ICLEI Local Governments for Sustainability
Homepage About Members Supporters Themes Services News & Events Contact us
World Mayors Council on Climate Change
The World Mayors Council on Climate Change (WMCCC) is an alliance of committed local government leaders advocating an enhanced recognition and involvement of Mayors in multilateral efforts addressing climate change and related issues of global sustainability.

The WMCCC was initiated by then Mayor Yorikane Masumoto, City of Kyoto (Japan), in consultation with ICLEI in December 2005, following the entry into force of the Kyoto Protocol in February 2005.

At COP15 in December 2009 in Copenhagen, Mayor Marcelo Ebrard of Mexico City was elected as the new Chair of the Council. Mayor Jürgen Nimptsch of City of Bonn will act as the Co-Chair of the Council.

There are presently over 50 members of the WMCCC, representing a vast network of local governments working to reduce global greenhouse gas emissions. Membership to the WMCCC is open to Mayors and equivalent leaders of municipal levels of government. Former Mayor Bärbel Dieckmann of Bonn (Germany) is currently the Chair of the WMCCC, with Former Mayor Masumoto of Kyoto City (Japan) serving as Honorary Chair.

The key purposes of the Council are:
  • To politically promote policies addressing climate change and its impact on other areas at the local level;
  • To foster the international cooperation of municipal leaders on achieving relevant climate targets, especially under the Kyoto Protocol, Millennium Development Goal 7 and biodiversity target of Countdown 2010;
  • To help make the multilateral mechanisms for global climate protection effective and, through advocacy, influence negotiations on future global climate protection regimes.

For more information, please visit the WMCCC website.